Networking in the USA

From the 10th to the 12th of November 2018 our team member Joachimg (Media) participated in a Peace Starts With Me Workshop in New York. The reason was to get inspired and to get fresh ideas regarding the motto. As you probably noticed, Peace Starts With me is also the motto of our Interfaith Workshops. Joachim also had the chance to network with the YSP Team of the USA. 

"We sang a lot of songs together, it really united the participants and created a nice atmosphere. Professional musicians, very passionate, great equipment and a lot of power! I'm not used to that in Europe!

The 300 participants were divided in teams of 9, which discussed about their experiences daily. For example we thought of 3 allegedly bad character trades of ourselves. The we thought of actions steps how we could potentially use them in a positive way in the futute. This exercise really suited the motto! I was also impressed how easy it was to have open conversations with basically strangers. I would love to create a similar culture of communication in Germany!

Networking with YSP USA, it became clear that they are also just at the beginning. Still they shared a lot of valuable experiences that will especially help us to organizie events in Germany more professionally. They also presented the concept of "Peace Designer" to me. The purpose of "Peace Designer" is to train people to develop concrete solutions working towards peace and to actually put them into action."

© YSP Deutschland

Networking in den USA

Vom 10. bis 12. November 2018 nahm unser Team-Mitglied Joachim (Media) bei einem Peace Starts With Me Workshop in New York teil. Sinn und Zweck war sich inspirieren zu lassen und sich frische Ideen zum Motto zu holen. Wie du vielleicht schon bemerkt hast, ist “Peace Starts With Me” auch das Motto unserer Interfaith Workshops. Zudem ergab sich ein Netzwerk-Treffen mit dem YSP Team aus den USA:

“Es wurde auf dem Workshop viel zusammen gesungen, das hat die Teilnehmer sehr verbunden und eine schöne Atmosphäre kreiert. Professionelle Musiker, sehr leidenschaftlich dabei, gutes Equipment und mit viel Power! Sowas bin ich aus Europa nicht gewohnt!

Die 300 Teilnehmer waren in 9er-Teams aufgeteilt, welche täglich über das Workshop-Programm diskutiert haben. Wir haben zum Beispiel 3 vermeintlich schlechte Charakter-Eigenschaften im Dialog mit dem Team gesammelt und uns Action Steps überlegt, wie wir sie in Zukunft positiv nutzen können. Das hat total gut zum Motto gepasst! Außerdem war ich fasziniert, wie leicht es war, offene Gespräche mit mehr oder weniger fremden Menschen zu führen. Diese Gesprächskultur würde ich mir in Deutschland auch mehr wünschen!

Im Netzwerk-Treffen wurde deutlich, dass YSP in Amerika auch noch am Anfang steht. Trotzdem teilten sie einige wertvolle Erfahrungen, die uns vor allem bei der Organisation von Events in Deutschland helfen werden. Sie stellten mir auch ein Konzept namens “Peace Designer” vor. Dabei geht es darum Leute zu trainieren, in der Friedensarbeit konkrete Lösungen für Probleme zu finden und diese auch umzusetzen.”

© YSP Deutschland